Wanderlust: Lighthouses in the Philippines And The Reason I Fell In Love (Again)

Posted: April 10, 2014 in Travel
Tags: , , ,

“Lighthouse guide us.”

There is something mysterious about lighthouses that whenever it was mentioned to me or I found photo of it on the internet, my lust to wander supercharge.

Philippines is one of the country where it houses lots of beautiful and historic lighthouses. I have to say (based on the pictures I found) that the most beautiful one is found in the northernmost part of the country, which is called as the Mahatao Tayid Lighthouse in Batanes.

Tayid Lighthouse in Batanes, Philippines

Tayid Lighthouse in Batanes, Philippines.
CTO: Skycanner

According to Wikipedia there are over 30 lighthouses in the Philippines. The oldest lighthouse in the Philippines is the first lighthouse found in the Pasig River. Back in the good old days, it was called Faro de Rio de Pasig.

Faro de Rio de Pasig

The 1846 Stone Lighthouse at the mouth of Pasig River.
(Photo Credits)

The first lighthouse that I have seen in person and in the closest distance was the Guisi Lighthouse in Guimaras. I remember how history embraces me when I first saw it. Today, the lighthouse was not functional, but the engulfing rusts tell a blast from the past.

Guisi Lighthouse

Guisi Lighthouse in Guimaras

Another lighthouse in Guimaras is found in one of the seven islets. It is called Siete Picados. It was one of the oldest lighthouse in the Philippines, which was first lighted back in 1884 and still being used today. I must say that this is the culprit why I fell in love with lighthouses. I remember I was 9years old and was traveling from Iloilo to Negros with my family when I saw the lighthouse at a distance .

Siete Picados Lighthouse, Guimaras

Siete Picados Lighthouse, Guimaras

The Maniguin Lighthouse in Antique is maybe the least talked lighthouse.  It was built by Americans in 1904- 1906. Today it is not working and apparently abandoned.

Original Photo of Maniguin Island Lighthouse

Original Photo of Maniguin Island Lighthouse

Other beautiful and historic lighthouses in the Philippines are yet to be seen by yours truly in person. For now I am seeing them through the pictures posted by other travel enthusiasts who fell in love with Philippine lighthouses too. I do promise to myself to visit the lighthouses in Cebu, Corregidor, Palawan, Pangasinan, and Zambales soon.

Leave a Reply

