Wanderlust: My Summer Travel Affair in Cebu, Philippines

Posted: May 10, 2015 in Travel
Tags: , , , , , ,

There will always be that place where you’ll fall in love. That place where you never thought love could flourish unexpectedly. And that place (well, for me) is the island of Cebu in the Philippines.

Traveling with Cebu Pacific Air

While the world is celebrating Cinco de Mayo, I packed my bags and took the 1210H (Philippine Time) flight to Mactan, Cebu International Airport. My wanderlustful mind says I have to visit the Queen City of the South for ‘love purposes’.

The following are the things I’ve done in Cebu for 24hours (estimated hours of strolling, excluding the trip to health clinics with my friends and my ‘Sleeping Beauty’ mode on May 6th), that made me fall in love again.

Dinner and Shopping at Ayala Center Cebu

We had our dinner at Gerry’s Grill located in the Terraces area of Ayala Center Cebu. I’ve been to Gerry’s before so I recommended it to my friends. We had a sumptuous dinner amidst the packed ambiance inside the restaurant.

Ayala Center Cebu

Ayala Center Cebu’s mini park at night

Aside from Gerry’s Grill, there are lots of food stalls or restaurants in Ayala. You can choose to dine in a Thai restaurant, Japanese, American, Mexican, and of course Filipino restaurants. For coffee and tea lovers, Starbucks, Bo’s Coffee, and others are also found in the Terraces. Desserts and other pastries are also provided by  J.Co, Chocolatier, and etc. Ayala Center Cebu also caters for our shopping needs. Rustan’s, Metro Department Store and others offer lots of things to spice our summer style.

Prayed at Basilica del Sto. Niño de Cebu

Basilica del Sto. Niño de Cebu

Basilica del Sto. Niño de Cebu’s signage

The moment I stepped on the entrance of the Basilica del Sto. Niño, I know I have not only fulfilled one item in my bucket list, but I also made an intimate relationship with God.

Basilica del Sto. Niño de Cebu

At the Garden inside Basilica del Sto. Niño de Cebu.

Basilica del Sto. Niño was built during the Spanish era. Devotees of Sto. Niño  from everywhere come to pray inside the church. You can also light candles outside the Basilica.

Visited the Historic Magellan’s Cross

Magellan's Cross

Magellan’s Cross, Cebu

When the Spaniards, headed by Ferdinand Magellan, they brought Christianity to the Philippines. A cross is a symbol of Christianity that the first to be placed is the popularly known Magellan’s Cross. The capilla for the cross is adorned by a breathtaking ceiling painting.

Toured Fort San Pedro in Plaza Independencia, Cebu

Plaza Independencia, Cebu

Signage at the entrance of Plaza Independencia, Cebu

The smallest port called Fort San Pedro is located in Plaza Independencia, Cebu.  It is walking distance from Magellan’s Cross.

Fort San Pedro, Cebu

Fort San Pedro, Cebu’s entrance signage greets tourists

Upon entry, the receptionist will asked you if you want to have a tour guide or not. Two tourism students from Cebu Normal University were assigned to me and my friends. They’re very informative and fun to be with. The tour around the triangular port runs for 15 to 30 minutes, depending on your ‘picture- taking preferences’.

Bought Pasalubong at Tabo- an Public Market

From Fort San Pedro, me and my friends head over Tabo- an Public Market. You will be greeted by an array of dried goods vendors. The famous Danggit are on full display outside the market. Vendors also sell other variety of dried fish, dried mango, otap, keychains, and other souvenir items.

The affair I had in Cebu was one I’d be proud of. I had deepen my intimate relationship with God thru Basilica del Sto. Niño. The Cebuanos are so kind and the services we had from the Mactan International Airport was one-of-a-kind. I felt special and worthy in this Queen City. But, there’s a lot to explore in the lovely Cebu that I promised to go back there in June.

Leave a Reply

